1. In-service training of police is required by Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. 7-294g (a); Ga. Code Ann. 35-1-10 (state funded training only); Ind. Code Ann. 5-2-8-2; Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 403.784 (every 2 years); R.I. Gen. Laws 12-29-6 (b); S.D. Codified Laws Ann. 23-3-39.4, 42.1 (every 4 years); Tex. Occ. Code Ann. 1701.253 (b)(1)(B)(iv). Mass. Gen Laws Ann. ch. 6 116A (f); Nev. Rev. Stat. 481.054 ( ) (stalking training); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. 109.73 (A)(6); S. C. Code Ann. 23-6-435; Wash. Rev. Code Ann. 10.99.030 (3) provide for the availability of in-service training for police, but it is not statutorily required. Cal. Penal Code 13519 (c) encourages local agencies to provide in-service domestic violence training and makes state assistance available for such training. Maine requires local law enforcement agencies to develop training on domestic violence for their officers, but leaves the content of such training to local discretion, Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 19-A 4012 (3).

    Related in-service training laws include N.J. Stat. Ann. 52:4B-47 (b), which provides for training on "crime victim need." N.M. Stat. Ann. 29-11-5; Tex. Gov’t. Code Ann. 415.034(b)(3)(B)(iv); Wash. Rev. Code Ann. 43.101.270 offer police in-service training for handling sexual assault cases.

    Ky. Rev. Stat. 403.784 requires training on domestic violence for police dispatch personnel.